SERVICES AND EXPERTISE

Manual Therapy

What is Manual Therapy?

Manual therapy is a specific approach to physiotherapy that focuses on hands on joint mobilizations and manipulations aimed at restoring joint mobility and function.

What is a FCAMPT?

Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Manipulative Physiotherapy (FCAMPT) are physiotherapists who have taken extensive post-graduate courses aimed at developing manual and manipulative therapy skills and who have completed national level and internationally recognized examinations in order to obtain the FCAMPT certification.

Who benefits from Manual Therapy?

Most people with joint pain or dysfunction are likely to benefit from manual or manipulative physical therapy. Manual therapy is combined with exercises to maintain the effects of treatment and to maximize joint range of motion and strength.

For more information please visit manippt.org.

dry needling

Dry needling is a treatment technique using a needle with the goal of releasing trigger points or taught muscle fibres and restoring their function. While the type of needle used is the same as that used in acupuncture, it is important to clarify that dry needling in physiotherapy is not acupuncture.

Chantal is certified by the Order to perform dry needling.

Jaw pain (TMJ)

The jaw or temporomandibular joint (otherwise known as the TMJ) is a frequent and often debilitating source of pain. TMJ and facial pain can be caused by head and neck muscle tension, poor posture, dental problems, nerve damage or irritation or the joint itself.

Physiotherapists with an expertise in TMJ pain complete a detailed assessment of the head (jaw) and neck in order to determine the origin of the patient’s pain or dysfunction. They work closely with dentists (orthodontists, surgeons, etc) in order to develop the best plan of care for the patient.

Chantal has taken several courses on the subject with, among others, the Craniofacial Therapy Academy (crafta.org), Dr. Mariano Rocabado & Chantal Lafrenière.

Conditions treated include: myofascial pain, “locked jaw”, arthritis, etc.

Running injuries

With an increasing popularity in recreational running over the past several years, many people of all ages are lacing up their running shoes in the hopes of completing their first 5km, 10km, half or even full marathon.

While the benefits of being physically active are undeniable, injuries related to a change or increase in activity are not uncommon. Certified by the Running Clinic, Chantal has completed a specialized theoretical and clinical training in the prevention of running injuries. Running assessment, injury assessment and treatment as well as training tips and recommended shoes are among the topics covered.

XRay prescription

Since May 2020, physiotherapists who have followed training recognized by the Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec (OPPQ) on XRay prescription can, once they have obtained the attestation from the Order, prescribe XRays for patients having had an acute trauma in the last 72 hours.

The American College of Radiology (ACR) norms allow physiotherapists to determine, at the time of the assessment, if the clinical condition of the patient requires an XRay.

Chantal has her certification from the Order and can, if applicable, prescribe XRays.

Other Conditions Treated

Many other conditions can be treated in physiotherapy including:

  • neck, back, arm, and leg pain
  • herniated discs
  • osteoarthritis
  • muscle strains
  • sprains
  • post-orthopaedic surgery (ACL repair, rotator cuff repair, etc)
  • headaches
  • whiplash
  • vestibular rehabilitation
  • nerve injuries
  • sports injuries
  • rotator cuff
  • plantar fasciitis
  • epicondylitis or « tennis elbow »
  • tendinitis or tendinopathy
  • etc.

If you have questions about whether physiotherapy is right for you, please contact us here.

Teaching and Mentorship

Over the past several years, Chantal has been actively involved in mentoring fellow physiotherapists with a wide range of clinical experiences. Chantal has mentored new graduates as well as experienced physiotherapists who are completing their manual therapy certification.

If you are a physiotherapist and you are looking for clinical supervision, please contact Chantal here.

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT

Book an appointment today through our automated online system.
Choose your time according to your own agenda.

BOOK NOW

SCHEDULE

Monday 11am-7pm
Wednesday 12pm-8pm
Tuesday & Thursday 8:30am-5pm

*Subject to change

FOLLOW-US

CONTACT

EMAIL
info@chantalballphysio.com

TELEPHONE
514-963-4708

ADDRESS
4219 Decarie Boul., suite 101, Mtl Qc H4A 3J8

Villa-Maria

*10 outdoor steps to access the clinic*

BOOK AN APPOINTMENT

SERVICES ET EXPERTISES

Thérapie manuelle

Qu’est-ce que la thérapie manuelle ?

La thérapie manuelle est une approche spécifique de la physiothérapie axée sur des mobilisations et manipulations articulaires dans le but de maximiser la mobilité et la capacité fonctionnelle.

Qu’est-ce qu’un FCAMPT ?

Les Fellows du Canadian Academy of Manipulative Physiotherapy (FCAMPT) sont des physiothérapeutes ayant pris de multiples cours post-gradués dans le but de développer leurs compétences en thérapie manuelle et en manipulations articulaires. Ils ont complété des examens nationaux et sont reconnus à un niveau international grâce à l’obtention de la certification de FCAMPT.

Qui bénéficie de la thérapie manuelle ?

La majorité des gens avec des douleurs ou dysfonctions articulaires bénéficieront de la thérapie manuelle. Cette approche est jumelée avec des exercices pour optimiser les effets des traitements et maximiser la mobilité articulaire et la force musculaire.

Pour plus d’information, veuillez visiter manippt.org.

Douleur à la mâchoire (ATM)

La mâchoire ou l’articulation temporomandibulaire (ATM) est une source de douleur fréquente et souvent incapacitante. Les douleurs de l’ATM et les douleurs faciales peuvent être causées par des tensions des muscles du visage et du cou, une mauvaise posture, des problèmes dentaires, une blessure ou irritation nerveuse, ou l’articulation elle-même.

Les physiothérapeutes avec une expertise sur l’ATM complète une évaluation détaillée de la mâchoire (ATM) et de la colonne cervicale dans le but de déterminer la source de la douleur ou de la dysfonction et travaille en collaboration avec les dentistes (orthodontistes, chirurgiens, etc) pour développer le meilleur plan de traitement pour le patient.

Chantal a suivi plusieurs formations sur le sujet avec, entre autre, la Craniofacial Therapy Academy (crafta.org), Dr. Mariano Rocabado & Chantal Lafrenière.

Les conditions traitées incluent : douleur myofasciale, blocage articulaire, arthrite, etc.

Blessures liées à la course à pied

Avec une augmentation de la popularité de la course à pied depuis quelques années, plusieurs personnes de tous âges enfilent leur souliers de course dans le but de compléter leur premier 5 km, 10 km, demi-marathon ou même un marathon complet.

Quoique les bénéfices de l’activité physique sont incontestables, les blessures liées aux changement ou augmentations de l’activité ne sont pas rares. Certifié par la Clinique du Coureur, Chantal a complété une formation théorique et pratique spécialisée sur la prévention des blessures en course à pied. Évaluer la course, évaluer et traiter les blessures, proposer des astuces d’entraînement et recommandations de souliers sont parmi les sujets couverts.

PRESCRIPTION DE RADIOGRAPHIES

Depuis mai 2020, les physiothérapeutes ayant suivi une formation reconnue par l’Ordre professionnel de la physiothérapie du Québec (OPPQ) sur la prescription des radiographies peuvent, suite à l’obtention d’une attestation de l’Ordre, prescrire des radiographies pour une personne ayant subi un traumatisme aigu il y a moins de 72 heures.

Les normes prévues par l’American College of Radiology (ACR) permettent aux physiothérapeutes de déterminer, au moment de l’évaluation, si la condition clinique du patient requiert des radiographies.

Chantal possède l’attestation de l’Ordre et peut, le cas échéant, prescrire des radiographies.

AUTRES CONDITIONS TRAITÉES

Plusieurs autres conditions peuvent être traitées en physiothérapie, incluant :

  • douleur du cou, dos, bras, et jambes
  • hernies discales
  • arthrose
  • blessures musculaire
  • entorses
  • post-chirurgie (réparation du LCA, coiffe des rotateurs, etc.)
  • céphalées (maux de tête)
  • “whiplash”
  • réadaptation vestibulaire
  • blessures nerveuses
  • blessures sportives
  • coiffe des rotateurs
  • fasciite plantaire
  • epicondylite ou « tennis elbow »
  • tendinite ou tendinopathie
  • etc.

Si vous avez des questions ou pour savoir si la physiothérapie est indiquée pour vous, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous ici.

ENSEIGNEMENT ET MENTORAT

Depuis plusieurs années, Chantal est activement impliquée dans le mentorat de physiothérapeutes ayant une variété d’expériences clinique. Chantal a fait du mentorat avec de nouveaux finissants ainsi que des thérapeutes expérimentés qui complètent leur certificat de thérapie manuelle.

Si vous êtes un physiothérapeute et cherchez de la supervision clinique, veuillez contacter Chantal ici.

PRISE DE RENDEZ-VOUS

Prenez rendez-vous en ligne via notre système automatisé.
Choisissez directement votre heure de rendez-vous en fonction de votre agenda.

PRENDRE RDV

HORAIRE

Lundi & Mercredi 13h-20h
Mardi & Jeudi 8h-16h
Vendredi 8h-12h

SUIVEZ-NOUS

CONTACT

COURRIEL
info@chantalballphysio.com

TÉLÉPHONE
514-963-4708

ADRESSE
4219 Blvd Décarie #101, Mtl Qc H4A 3J8

Villa-Maria

PRENDRE RDV